Change Sharing

SaaS applications make it easy for users to collaborate and share information in the cloud. However, tracking and controlling the different types of sharing in all cloud apps you sanction to ensure that your private data is not exposed can be challenging. This is why the Asset Risk Details and Security Controls Risk Details identify all the different ways that an asset is shared. In some cases, the Aperture service identifies an asset as a risk because it contains sensitive or private keywords or data and you can simply modify how the asset is shared to remove the risk.
Types of sharing that may pose a risk include the following:
  • Public share settings—The asset is publicly indexed on Google or it is stored in a public repository.
  • Shared links—The owner created a public link, vanity URL, or password-protected link for direct access to the asset.
  • External collaboration—The owner shared the asset with users outside of your organization.
  • Company-wide collaboration—The owner created a company-wide URL that gives anyone in the company direct access to the asset.
  • Internal collaboration—The owner shared the asset with internal users.
When you Add a New Policy Rule for Content, you can automatically change sharing to Remove Public Links. Choices include:
  • Only Remove Direct Links—Remove any links on the asset that allow the asset to be publicly accessed. Only the link on the asset is removed. For some cloud apps, the asset may still be exposed due to inheritance from parent folders.
  • Remove Public Links on Parent Folders if Necessary—For some applications, you can also remove public links from an asset if the risk is inherited (for example, if the folder where the asset resides has public links or Collaborators, but the file itself does not). This option removes any public links on the asset and removes any public links on parent folders that allow the asset to be publicly accessed.
    po-change-sharing-settings.png
When public links are automatically removed on an asset, you can send the asset owner a Remediation Digest Email that describes the changes that were made (Actions Taken).
You can change sharing for assets automatically when you Add a New Policy Rule for Content, or you can open Asset Risk Details or Security Controls Risk Details and select AutoremediateChange Sharing to manually change sharing for an asset.

Related Documentation