The way you downgrade from PAN-OS 7.1 depends on whether you are downgrading to a previous feature release (where the first or second digit in the PAN-OS version changes, for example 7.1 to 7.0 or 6.0 to 5.0) or you are downgrading to a maintenance release within the same feature release version (where the third digit in the release version changes, for example, from 7.1.1 to 7.1.0). When downgrading from one feature release to an earlier feature release, the configuration may be migrated to accommodate new features. Therefore, before downgrading you must restore the configuration for the feature release to which you are downgrading. You can downgrade from one maintenance release to another within the same feature release without having to worry about restoring the configuration:
Always downgrade into a configuration that matches the software version. Unmatched software versions and configurations can result in failed downgrades or force the system into maintenance mode. This only applies to a downgrade from one feature release to another (for example 7.1.1 to 7.0.9), not to downgrades to maintenance releases within the same feature release version (for example, 7.1.1 to 7.1.0). If you have a problem with a downgrade, you may need to enter maintenance mode and reset the device to factory default and then restore the configuration from the original config file that was exported prior to the upgrade.

Related Documentation