Click Commit at the top right of the web interface to commit, validate, or preview your changes to the firewall configuration. Committing applies the candidate configuration to the running configuration, which activates all configuration changes since the last commit. To save, revert, import, export, or load configurations, select Device > Setup > Operations.
The firewall queues commit requests so that you can initiate a new commit while a previous commit is in progress. The firewall performs the commits in the order they are initiated but prioritizes commits that the firewall initiates automatically, such as FQDN refreshes. If the queue already has the maximum number of administrator-initiated commits (which varies by platform), you must wait for the firewall to finish processing a pending commit before initiating a new commit. Use the Task Manager to cancel commits or see details about commits that are pending, in progress, completed, or failed.
In the Commit dialog, click Advanced to display the following options.
Field/Button Description
Include Device and Network configuration Select this option to commit changes to settings in the Device and Network tabs (enabled by default).
Include Shared Object configuration Select this option to commit changes to shared objects (enabled by default). This option is available only on firewalls with multiple virtual systems.
Include Policy and Object configuration Select this option to commit changes to settings in the Policy and Objects tabs (enabled by default). This option is available only on firewalls for which the multiple virtual systems capability is disabled.
Include Virtual System configuration Select this option to commit changes to policies and objects in All virtual systems (default) or Select one or more virtual systems in the list (enabled by default). This option is available only on firewalls with multiple virtual systems.
Description Enter a description (up to 512 characters) for the commit. A brief summary of what changed in the configuration is useful to other administrators who might want to know this without performing a configuration audit (comparison). The System log for a commit event will truncate the description value if it exceeds 512 characters.
Preview Changes Click Preview Changes to compare the candidate configuration to the running configuration. Use the Lines of Context drop-down to specify the number of lines—from the compared configuration files—to display before and after each highlighted difference. If you select All, the results include the entire configuration files. Changes are color-coded based on configurable settings: added (green), modified (yellow), and deleted (red). The Device > Config Audit feature performs the same function (see Device > Config Audit). Because the preview results display in a new window, your browser must allow pop-up windows. If the preview window does not open, refer to your browser documentation for the steps to unblock pop-up windows.
Validate Changes Select this option to perform a syntactic validation (whether configuration syntax is correct) and semantic validation (whether the configuration is complete and makes sense) of the firewall configuration before committing the changes. The response will include all of the errors and warnings that a full commit or virtual system commit would, including rule shadowing and application dependency warnings; however, no changes are made to the running configuration. This validation helps you know if a change can be successfully committed before actually committing it, significantly reducing failures at commit time. To control who can validate configurations, you can enable or disable the Validate option in Admin Role profiles.
Commit Select this option to start the commit or, if other commits are pending, to add it to the commit queue.

Related Documentation