Restoring a Panorama configuration overwrites the current candidate configuration with another configuration. This is useful when you want to revert Panorama to all the settings of an earlier configuration; you can perform the restoration as a single operation instead of manually reconfiguring each setting in the current configuration.
Panorama automatically saves a new version of the running configuration whenever you commit changes, and you can restore any of those versions. However, you must manually save a candidate configuration to later restore it (see
Back Up Panorama and Firewall Configurations).