Revert Panorama Configuration Changes

Revert operations replace settings in the current candidate configuration with settings from another configuration. Reverting changes is useful when you want to undo changes to multiple settings as a single operation instead of manually reconfiguring each setting.
You can revert pending changes that were made to the Panorama configuration since the last commit. Panorama provides the option to filter the pending changes by administrator or
location
. The locations can be specific device groups, templates, Collector Groups, Log Collectors, shared settings, or the Panorama management server. If you saved a snapshot file for a candidate configuration that is earlier than the current running configuration (see Save and Export Panorama and Firewall Configurations), you can also revert to that snapshot. Reverting to a snapshot enables you to restore a candidate configuration that existed before the last commit. Panorama automatically saves a new version of the running configuration whenever you commit changes, and you can restore any of those versions.
  • Revert to the current Panorama running configuration (file named running-config.xml).
    This operation undoes changes you made to the candidate configuration since the last commit.
    • To revert all the changes that all administrators made, perform one of the following steps:
      • Select
        Panorama
        Setup
        Operations
        ,
        Revert to running Panorama configuration
        , and click
        Yes
        to confirm the operation.
      • Log in to Panorama with an administrative account that is assigned the Superuser role or an Admin Role profile with the
        Commit For Other Admins
        privilege enabled. Then select
        Config
        Revert Changes
        at the top of the web interface, select
        Revert All Changes
        and
        Revert
        .
    • To revert only specific changes to the candidate configuration:
      1. Log in to Panorama with an administrative account that has the role privileges required to revert the desired changes.
        The privileges that control commit operations also control revert operations.
      2. Select
        Config
        Revert Changes
        at the top of the web interface.
      3. Select
        Revert Changes Made By
        .
      4. To filter the Revert Scope by administrator, click
        <administrator-name>
        , select the administrators, and click
        OK
        .
      5. To filter the Revert Scope by location, clear any locations that you want to exclude.
      6. Revert
        the changes.
  • Revert to the default snapshot (.snapshot.xml) of the Panorama candidate configuration.
    1. Select
      Panorama
      Setup
      Operations
      and
      Revert to last saved Panorama configuration
      .
    2. Click
      Yes
      to confirm the operation.
    3. (
      Optional
      ) To overwrite the running configuration with the snapshot, select
      Commit
      Commit to Panorama
      and
      Commit
      your changes.
  • Revert to a previous version of the running configuration that is stored on Panorama.
    1. Select
      Panorama
      Setup
      Operations
      and
      Load Panorama configuration version
      .
    2. Select a configuration
      Version
      and click
      OK
      .
    3. (
      Optional
      ) To overwrite the running configuration with the version you just restored, select
      Commit
      Commit to Panorama
      and
      Commit
      your changes.
  • Revert to one of the following:
    • Custom-named version of the Panorama running configuration that you previously imported
    • Custom-named Panorama candidate configuration snapshot (instead of the default snapshot)
    1. Select
      Panorama
      Setup
      Operations
      and
      Load named Panorama configuration snapshot
      .
    2. Select the snapshot
      Name
      and click
      OK
      .
    3. (
      Optional
      ) To overwrite the running configuration with the snapshot, select
      Commit
      Commit to Panorama
      and
      Commit
      your changes.
  • Restore a Panorama running or candidate configuration that you previously exported to an external host.
    1. Select
      Panorama
      Setup
      Operations
      ,
      Import named Panorama configuration snapshot
      ,
      Browse
      to the configuration file on the external host, and click
      OK
      .
    2. Load named Panorama configuration snapshot
      , select the
      Name
      of the configuration file you just imported, and click
      OK
      .
    3. (
      Optional
      ) To overwrite the running configuration with the snapshot you just imported, select
      Commit
      Commit to Panorama
      and
      Commit
      your changes.

Related Documentation