Revert Panorama Configuration Changes

When you revert changes, you are replacing settings in the current candidate configuration with settings from another configuration. Reverting changes is useful when you want to undo changes to multiple settings as a single operation instead of manually reconfiguring each setting.
You can revert pending changes that were made to the Panorama configuration since the last commit. You can revert all pending changes on Panorama or select specific device groups, templates, or template stacks. Panorama provides the option to filter the pending changes by administrator or location. The locations can be specific device groups, templates, Collector Groups, Log Collectors, shared settings, or the Panorama management server. If you saved a snapshot file for a candidate configuration that is earlier than the current running configuration (see Save and Export Panorama and Firewall Configurations), you can also revert to that candidate configuration snapshot. Reverting to a snapshot enables you to restore a candidate configuration that existed before the last commit. Panorama automatically saves a new version of the running configuration whenever you commit changes and you can restore any of those versions.
Reverting a Panorama management server configuration requires a full commit and must be performed by a superuser. Full commits are required when performing certain Panorama operations, such as reverting and loading a Panorama configuration, and are not supported for custom Admin Role profiles.
  • Revert to the current Panorama running configuration (file named
    running-config.xml
    ).
    This operation undoes changes you made to the candidate configuration since the last commit.
    • To revert all the changes that all administrators made, perform one of the following steps:
      • Select
        Panorama
        Setup
        Operations
        ,
        Revert to running Panorama configuration
        , and click
        Yes
        to confirm the operation.
      • Log in to Panorama with an administrative account that is assigned the Superuser role or an Admin Role profile with the
        Commit For Other Admins
        privilege enabled. Then select
        Config
        Revert Changes
        , select
        Revert All Changes
        , and
        Revert
        .
    • To revert only specific changes to the candidate configuration:
      1. Log in to Panorama with an administrative account that has the role privileges required to revert the desired changes.
        The privileges that control commit operations also control revert operations.
      2. Select
        Config
        Revert Changes
        .
      3. Select
        Revert Changes Made By
        .
      4. To filter the Revert Scope by administrator, click <
        administrator-name
        >, select the administrators, and click
        OK
        .
      5. To filter the Revert Scope by location, clear any locations that you want to exclude.
      6. Revert
        the changes.
    • To revert specific device group, template, or template stack changes to the running configuration:
      1. Select
        Panorama
        Setup
        Operations
        ,
        Revert to running Panorama configuration
        , and
        Select Device Group & Templates
        .
      2. Select the specific device groups, templates, or template stacks to revert.
      3. Click
        OK
        to confirm the operation.
      4. (
        Optional
        ) Select
        Commit
        Commit to Panorama
        and
        Commit
        your changes to overwrite the running configuration.
  • Revert to the default snapshot (
    .snapshots.xml
    ) of the Panorama candidate configuration.
    • To revert all the changes that all administrators made:
      1. Select
        Panorama
        Setup
        Operations
        and
        Revert to last saved Panorama configuration
        .
      2. Click
        Yes
        to confirm the operation.
      3. (
        Optional
        ) Select
        Commit
        Commit to Panorama
        and
        Commit
        your changes to overwrite the running configuration with the snapshot.
    • To revert specific device group, template, or template stack changes to the running configuration:
      1. Select
        Panorama
        Setup
        Operations
        ,
        Revert to last saved Panorama configuration
        , and
        Select Device Group & Templates
        .
      2. Select the specific device groups, templates, or template stacks to revert.
      3. Click
        OK
        to confirm the operation.
      4. (
        Optional
        ) To overwrite the running configuration, select
        Commit
        Commit to Panorama
        and
        Commit
        your changes with the snapshot.
  • Revert to a previous version of the running configuration that is stored on Panorama.
    • To revert all changes that administrators made:
      1. Select
        Panorama
        Setup
        Operations
        ,
        Load Panorama configuration version
        , and
        Select Device Group & Templates
        .
      2. Select a configuration
        Version
        and click
        OK
        .
      3. (
        Optional
        ) To overwrite the running configuration with the version you just restored, select
        Commit
        Commit to Panorama
        and
        Commit
        your changes.
    • To revert specific device group, template, or template changes to the running configuration:
      1. Select
        Panorama
        Setup
        Operations
        ,
        Load Panorama configuration version
        , and select a configuration version
        Name
        .
      2. Select Device Group & Templates
        and select the specific device groups, templates, or template stacks to revert.
      3. Click
        OK
        to confirm the operation.
      4. (
        Optional
        ) To overwrite the running configuration with the snapshot, select
        Commit
        Commit to Panorama
        and
        Commit
        your changes.
  • Revert to one of the following:
    • Custom-named version of the Panorama running configuration that you previously imported.
    • Custom-named Panorama candidate configuration snapshot (instead of the default snapshot).
    1. Select
      Panorama
      Setup
      Operations
      ,
      Load named Panorama configuration snapshot
      , and select the
      Name
      of the configuration file you just imported.
    2. (
      Optional
      )
      Load Shared Objects
      or
      Load Shared Policies
      to load all shared objects or policies. You can load all shared objects and policies, as well as load all objects and policies configured in the device groups and templates you specify in the next step.
    3. (
      Optional
      )
      Select Device Group & Templates
      , and select the specific device group, template, or template stack configurations to load. Skip this step if you want to revert the entire Panorama configuration.
    4. Click
      OK
      to confirm the operation.
    5. (
      Optional
      ) To overwrite the running configuration with the snapshot, select
      Commit
      Commit to Panorama
      and
      Commit
      your changes.
  • Restore a Panorama running or candidate configuration that you previously exported to an external host.
    1. Select
      Panorama
      Setup
      Operations
      ,
      Import named Panorama configuration snapshot
      ,
      Browse
      to the configuration file on the external host, and click
      OK
      .
    2. Load named Panorama configuration snapshot
      and select the
      Name
      of the configuration file you just imported.
    3. (
      Optional
      )
      Load Shared Objects
      or
      Load Shared Policies
      to load all shared objects or policies. You can load all shared objects and policies, as well as load all objects and or policies configured in the device groups and templates you specify in the next step.
    4. (
      Optional
      )
      Select Device Group & Templates
      and select the specific device group, template, or template stack configurations to load. Skip this step if you want to revert the entire Panorama configuration.
    5. Click
      OK
      to confirm the operation.
    6. (
      Optional
      ) To overwrite the running configuration with the snapshot you just imported, select
      Commit
      Commit to Panorama
      and
      Commit
      your changes.

Recommended For You