Screenshot
Table of Contents
Screenshot
new Screenshot controls
| Prisma Browser Desktop | Prisma Browser Extension | Prisma Browser for Mobile |
|---|---|---|
| Full support | Partial support | Partial support |
| Content blur on screenshot attempt detection. Does not block screen sharing or video conferencing. | Allow (Specific) setting allows you the following options
|
Linux/IGEL Browser - No support
Prisma Browser Extension —
Screenshot protection on the extension uses content blur on capture attempt. The
following limitations apply:
- The blur may trigger during certain user actions that are not actual screenshot attempts, including browser menu activation, mouse right-click events, switching away from the tab (Alt-Tab or Cmd-Tab), and returning to the tab from another window.
- Screen sharing and video conferencing tools bypass the blur. Screenshot protection does not prevent screen content from being captured during screen sharing or video calls.
- Prompting notifications (JIT messages) are not available for Screenshot controls on the Prisma Browser Extension.
This feature controls whether or not users can take screenshots (using
snipping tools or Print Screen), record the screen, or share the screen with video
conferencing tools from websites that match the URL, application, or category in the
rule. To set the Screenshot control:
- From Strata Cloud Manager, selectConfigurationPrisma Browser PolicyControlsData ControlsSelect Screenshot.Select one of the following options:
- Allow - The Prisma Browser allows you to select the tools that you permit your users to use.
- Allow (Specific) – The Prisma Browser allows captures only from specific tools and under specific circumstances. Any other tool is blocked.
- Allow screenshot by the browser’s snipping tool - You
will be able to use the browser’s snipping tool; all other
screenshot tools will be blocked. This tool works with the Secured Screenshot feature and is the only available option for taking screenshots when the policy is set to Allow (Specific), as other screenshot, screen share, or recording tools are blocked.
- To enable the Snipping Tool, you must enable and display the Sidebar, which will show the Snipping Tool icon.
- The control for the tool is located at the bottom of the sidebar or at the top of the browser page in the Tools and Actions section.
- When a screen capture is taken, the image is sent to the clipboard.
The file is saved as an encrypted file in the Clipboard. If the File Download control is set as protected, then the screenshot file will be saved as a protected file.If the Clipboard control is set to block between applications, you won't be able to paste the screenshot to any unapproved applications. - Allow screen sharing by specific web apps - This
option allows you to select which web apps can initiate
screen sharing from a curated list of conferencing web apps,
or by browsing all available apps.
- To activate the feature, users need to share the tab that was specifically allowed, sharing the entire screen will remain blocked.
- Only web versions of apps can be allowed to initiate screen sharing - native desktop applications will remain blocked.
- Custom and private applications cannot be chosen from the list at this time - reach out if there is a concrete need to specifically allow sharing to such an app.
- Prisma Browser Extension and Prisma Browser for Mobile do not support selective screen sharing.
- Allow screenshot by the browser’s snipping tool - You
will be able to use the browser’s snipping tool; all other
screenshot tools will be blocked.
- Block - Prisma Browser will block screen capture, screen recording, and screen sharing using video conference tools. This is the default behavior.This will also block sharing when using remote session tools.
If you want to enable Prompting notifications when you allow screenshots, click the down arrow next to Prompt: Pop-up notifications.The Prompting notifications are not applicable for the Prisma Browser for Mobile. Prompting is only available when you select Allow, and not Allow (Specific).- Configure the following options:
- Warn and allow to proceed anyway - Informs users about the risk or sensitivity of the action, but allows them to continue.
- Warn and allow to proceed anyway with a reason - Informs users about the risk or sensitivity of the action, and requires them to provide a reason to continue.
- Permission request - Allows users to send a permission
request to the admin. The user will be informed once the request
is approved or denied.
- Choose the timeframe for the permission. You can configure the permission to be used once, or for a timeframe ranging from 10 minutes to 90 days.
Click Set.