Create a Forensics Rule

Create a forensics rule to define memory dump and forensics collection preferences.
  1. Configure a new forensics rule.
    Select PoliciesForensicsManagement and then click Add.
  2. Select the type of rule you want to configure.
    Select one of the following types of forensics rules and configure the settings according to the type of rule:
  3. (Optional) Add Conditions to the rule. By default, a new rule does not contain any conditions.
    To specify a condition, select the Conditions tab, select the condition in the Conditions list, and then Add it to the Selected Conditions list. Repeat to add more conditions, as needed. To add a condition to the Conditions list, see Define Activation Conditions for a Rule on Windows Endpoints or Define Activation Conditions for a Rule on Mac Endpoints.
  4. (Optional) Define the Target Objects to which to apply the restriction rule.
    To define a smaller subset of target objects, select the Objects tab, and then enter one or more Users, Computers, Groups, Organizational Unit, or Existing Endpoints in the Include or Exclude areas. The Endpoint Security Manager queries Active Directory to verify the users, computers, groups, or organizational units or identifies existing endpoints from previous communication messages.
  5. (Optional) Review the rule name and description. The ESM Console automatically generates the rule name and description based on the rule details but permits you to change these fields, if needed.
    To override the autogenerated name, select the Name tab, clear the Activate automatic description option, and then enter a rule name and description of your choice.
  6. Save the forensics rule.
    Do either of the following:
    • Save the rule without activating it. This option is only available for inactive, cloned, or new rules. When you are ready to activate the rule, select the rule from the PoliciesForensicsManagement page and then click Activate.
    • Apply the rule to activate it immediately.
    After saving or applying a rule, you can return to the Management page at any time to Delete or Deactivate the rule.

Related Documentation