Manage Saved Rules

After saving the rule, the name and description appear in the appropriate system logs and tables.
Select the rule to view details and perform any of the following actions:
Action
Description
Duplicate
(Action rules only) Create a new rule from an existing rule.
Delete
Discard the rule; the rule is removed from the system.
To delete multiple rules at the same time, select the rules and then select Delete Selected (non-Default) from the action menu manage-hidden-menu-icon.png at the top of the table.
Activate/Deactivate
If the rule was previously saved but not applied, you can Activate the rule to add it to the current security policy. If the rule is active, you can Deactivate it to remove the rule from the current security policy but not from the system.
To activate or deactivate multiple rules at the same time, select the rules and then select Activate Selected or Deactivate Selected from the menu manage-hidden-menu-icon.png at the top of the table. To disable or enable all exploit, malware, or forensics rules, see Disable or Enable All Protection Rules.
Edit
Edit the rule definition. Selecting this option opens the rule configuration dialog and allows you to change the rule definition. For more information, see Create an Exploit Protection Rule.
Import Rules/Export Selected
From the action menu manage-hidden-menu-icon.png at the top of the table, you can import rules or export selected rules. Exporting rules saves the selected rules to an XML file. For more information, see Export and Import Policy Files.
Show Default Rules/Hide Default Rules
From the action menu manage-hidden-menu-icon.png at the top of the table, you can expand the default rules or hide default rules. Select the rule to view additional information about the rule. For more information, see Show or Hide the Default Policy Rules.
Clone
When you show default rules and then select a rule, the ESM Console displays additional details about the rule settings and an option to Clone the rule. Cloning enables you to create a new rule that overwrites the default policy settings. For more information, see Show or Hide the Default Policy Rules.

Related Documentation