Process Protection Types

The ESM Console categorizes each process by a Protection Type:
  • Protected
    —Indicates that the process is actively protected by exploit protection rules that apply to all processes. You can also configure process-specific rules that only apply to select processes.
  • Provisional
    —Indicates that the process is undergoing a test run as a protected process, usually on a small number of endpoints and with a small number of rules. After the test run completes and you make any necessary adjustments to the associated rules, you can change the protection type of the process to
  • Unprotected
    —A process is categorized as
    when Traps first discovers a new process on an endpoint in your organization. Although your malware protection and WildFire policies automatically protect these processes, you must categorize new processes as
    processes to apply the exploit protection policy.

Recommended For You