Change the Uninstall Password

By default, you must enter the uninstall password specified during installation to uninstall Traps from an endpoint. Change the default password by creating an agent settings rule.
  1. Create a new agent settings rule.
    Select SettingsAgentSettings and then Add a new rule.
  2. Change the password.
    1. Select Agent Security and then select the option to Set uninstall password.
    2. Enter the password that the user or administrator must enter to uninstall Traps. The password must be at least eight characters long.
  3. (Optional) Add Conditions to the rule. By default, a new rule does not contain any conditions.
    To specify a condition, select the Conditions tab, select the condition in the Conditions list, and then Add it to the Selected Conditions list. Repeat this step to add more conditions, as needed. You can also define new Conditions.
  4. (Optional) Define the Target Objects to which to apply the rule.
    To define a smaller subset of target objects, select the Objects tab, and then enter one or more AD Users, AD Computers, AD Groups, AD Organizational Unit, Existing Endpoints, or Existing Groups in the Include or Exclude areas. The Endpoint Security Manager queries Active Directory to verify the users, computers, groups, or organizational units. The ESM Console also offers autocompletion as you type for existing endpoints and existing virtual groups.
  5. (Optional) Review the rule name and description. The ESM Console automatically generates the rule name and description based on the rule details but permits you to change these fields, if needed.
    To override the autogenerated name, select the Name tab, clear the Activate automatic description option, and then enter a rule name and description of your choice.
  6. Save the agent settings rule.
    Do either of the following:
    • Save the rule without activating it. This option is only available for inactive, cloned, or new rules. When you are ready to activate the rule, select the rule from the SettingsAgentSettings page and then click Activate.
    • Apply the rule to activate it immediately.
    After saving or applying a rule, you can return to the Settings page at any time to Delete or Deactivate the rule.

Related Documentation