Switch Between the BYOL and the PAYG Licenses

The VM-Series firewall cannot be converted between the BYOL and PAYG licensing options. If you have already deployed and configured a VM-Series firewall with the PAYG or BYOL option in AWS, Azure, or Google Cloud Platform, and now want to switch to the other option, use the following instructions to save and export the configuration on your existing firewall, deploy a new firewall, and then restore the configuration on the new firewall.
  1. Save a backup of the current configuration file and store it to an external server.
    1. Select
      Device
      Setup
      Operations
      and
      Export named configuration snapshot
      .
    2. Select the XML file that contains your running configuration (for example, running-config.xml) and click
      OK
      to export the configuration file.
    3. Save the exported file to a location external to the firewall.
  2. Deploy a new firewall and register or activate the license, as appropriate.
    For a new PAYG instance:
    1. In the AWS, Azure, or Google Cloud Platform Marketplace, select the software image for the PAYG licensing bundle you want to deploy.
    2. Deploy a new VM-Series firewall in the AWS, Azure, or Google public cloud. See Set Up the VM-Series Firewall on AWS, Set up the VM-Series Firewall on Azure, or Set Up the VM-Series Firewall on Google Cloud Platform.
    For a new BYOL instance:
    1. Contact your sales representative or reseller to purchase a BYOL license, and get a BYOL auth code that you can use to license your firewall.
  3. On the newly deployed firewall, restore the configuration that you exported.
    1. Access the web interface of the newly deployed firewall.
    2. Select
      Device
      Setup
      Operations
      , click
      Import named configuration snapshot
      , Browse to the configuration file on the external host, and click
      OK
      .
    3. Click
      Load named configuration snapshot
      , select the
      Name
      of the configuration file you just imported, and click
      OK
      .
    4. Click
      Commit
      to overwrite the running configuration with the snapshot you just imported.
    5. Verify that the configuration on the new firewall matches the firewall that you are replacing, before you delete the firewall or deactivate the licenses on the replaced firewall.

Related Documentation