End-of-Life (EoL)

Restore a Configuration

Restoring a firewall configuration overwrites the current candidate configuration with another configuration. This is useful when you want to revert all firewall settings used in an earlier configuration; you can perform this restoration as a single operation instead of manually reconfiguring each setting in the current configuration.
The firewall automatically saves a new version of the running configuration whenever you commit changes and you can restore any of those versions. However, you must manually save a candidate configuration to later restore it (see Back Up a Configuration).
  • Restore the current running configuration.
    This operation undoes all the changes you made to the candidate configuration since the last commit.
    1. Select
      Device
      Setup
      Operations
      and
      Revert to running configuration
      .
    2. Click
      Yes
      to confirm the operation.
  • Restore the default snapshot of the candidate configuration.
    This is the snapshot that you create or overwrite when you click
    Save
    at the top right of the web interface.
    1. Select
      Device
      Setup
      Operations
      and
      Revert to last saved configuration
      .
    2. Click
      Yes
      to confirm the operation.
    3. (
      Optional
      ) Click
      Commit
      to overwrite the running configuration with the snapshot.
  • Restore a previous version of the running configuration that is stored on the firewall.
    The firewall creates a version whenever you commit configuration changes.
    1. Select
      Device
      Setup
      Operations
      and
      Load configuration version
      .
    2. Select a configuration
      Version
      and click
      OK
      .
    3. (
      Optional
      ) Click
      Commit
      to overwrite the running configuration with the version you just restored.
  • Restore one of the following:
    • Current running configuration (named running-config.xml)
    • Custom-named version of the running configuration that you previously imported
    • Custom-named candidate configuration snapshot (instead of the default snapshot)
    1. Select
      Device
      Setup
      Operations
      and click
      Load named configuration snapshot
      .
    2. Select the snapshot
      Name
      and click
      OK
      .
    3. (
      Optional
      ) Click
      Commit
      to overwrite the running configuration with the snapshot.
  • Restore a running or candidate configuration that you previously exported to an external host.
    1. Select
      Device
      Setup
      Operations
      , click
      Import named configuration snapshot
      ,
      Browse
      to the configuration file on the external host, and click
      OK
      .
    2. Click
      Load named configuration snapshot
      , select the
      Name
      of the configuration file you just imported, and click
      OK
      .
    3. (
      Optional
      ) Click
      Commit
      to overwrite the running configuration with the snapshot you just imported.
  • Restore state information that you exported from a firewall.
    Besides the running configuration, the state information includes device group and template settings pushed from Panorama. If the firewall is a GlobalProtect portal, the information also includes certificate information, a list of satellites, and satellite authentication information. If you replace a firewall or portal, can you can restore the information on the replacement by importing the state bundle.
    Import state information:
    1. Select
      Device
      Setup
      Operations
      , click
      Import device state
      ,
      Browse
      to the state bundle, and click
      OK
      .
    2. (
      Optional
      ) Click
      Commit
      to apply the imported state information to the running configuration.

Recommended For You