Restoring a firewall configuration overwrites the current candidate configuration with another configuration. This is useful when you want to revert all firewall settings used in an earlier configuration; you can perform this restoration as a single operation instead of manually reconfiguring each setting in the current configuration.
The firewall automatically saves a new version of the running configuration whenever you commit changes and you can restore any of those versions. However, you must manually save a candidate configuration to later restore it (see
Back Up a Configuration).