Because maintenance releases do not introduce new features, you can downgrade to a previous maintenance release in the same feature release without having to restore the previous configuration. A maintenance release is a release in which the third digit in the release version changes, for example a downgrade from 7.1.1 to 7.1.0 is considered a maintenance release downgrade because only the third digit in the release version is different.
Use the following procedure to downgrade to a previous maintenance release within the same feature release.
Downgrade to a Previous Maintenance Release
Save a backup of the current configuration file. Although the firewall automatically creates a backup of the configuration, it is a best practice to create a backup before you downgrade and store it externally. Select Device > Setup > Operations and Export named configuration snapshot. Select the XML file that contains your running configuration (for example, running-config.xml) and click OK to export the configuration file. Save the exported file to a location external to the firewall. You can use this backup to restore the configuration if you have problems with the downgrade.
Install the previous maintenance release image. If your firewall does not have Internet access from the management port, you can download the software update from the Palo Alto Networks Support Portal. You can then manually Upload it to your firewall. Select Device > Software and Check Now for available images. Locate the version to which you want to downgrade. If the image is not already downloaded, then Download it. (If the image is already downloaded, you can skip this step.) After the download completes, Install the image. After the installation completes successfully, reboot using one of the following methods: If you are prompted to reboot, click Yes. If you are not prompted to reboot, select Device > Setup > Operations and Reboot Device (Device Operations section).

Related Documentation